Facebook: Bogus Invites to Join Facebook

user-pic
Vote 0 Votes
Share Share
Angelina Jolie at the premiere of Alexander in...

Image via Wikipedia

"Angelina Jolie" invited me to join Facebook and the invite looks all legit and everything or does it?  The email address that the invite was sent to is already registered with Facebook so then "WHY" would it be asking me to sign up?  "WHY" would it be asking me to add the email address to my Facebook account?

This new phishing attempt tries to get users to click on the link(s), drawing them to a website that's not Facebook, for reasons unknown but definitely nefarious.

facebook_invite_fake_01.png
Like any phishing emails, the links do not taking you to the actual site (e.g. Facebook) and in this instance, if you click on the button or the links, it will take you to some compromised site(s).  In fact, all the links on the email has been substituted with the alternate site (see below for list of sites).

The email itself originated from a different IP locations:

217.12.70.152 (RU)
95.72.115.111 (RU)


So, the bottom line, the email request looks very authentic if weren't for the following, "Why would Angelina Jolie be asking me to join Facebook"?  Be warned, be cautious and be alert.

Compromised/Free Hosting Sites used by Phishers:

  • http://xyddds.110mb.com/index.htm
  • http://grapevinephotography.com.au/1.htm


Reblog this post [with Zemanta]

Leave a comment

About this Entry

This page contains a single entry by John Highway published on June 8, 2010 9:24 AM.

Phishing: Email Administrator IT Service was the previous entry in this blog.

Twitter: Bogus E-mail Requesting Information is the next entry in this blog.

Find recent content on the main index or look in the archives to find all content.